Tuesday, July 17, 2012

The End by Mark Hitchcock

It's been a while since we've had some LaHaye biblical prophecy spin.

Enter Mark Hitchcock and his book, The End.

For anyone alive during the pinnacle of the Left Behind series this book will be nothing new. Hitchcock uses plenty of space (this is a large book) to explain the Left Behind theology. He uses fourteen parts to explain all the major points of interest when it comes to The Rapture, the Tribulation, Anti-Christ, the Wedding of the Lamb, The Millennium reign of Christ, the Mark of the Best and all the other "goodies" found inside the Prophecy Gurus.

Hitchcock does play out the other views of the end of the world but only on a surface level. He explains other views points using a sentence or two and then unleashes why they are incorrect and his view is the "God-breathed" interpretation.

There really isn't anything new to this theory so it's a wonder why Hitchcock decided to write this book. We have so many other books by LaHaye, Walvoord and Pentecost that all say the same thing. Why write another one?

I did read some interesting tidbits concerning the Anti-Christ in that Hitchcock believes the devil shapes a possible candidate to be the Anti-Christ for each generation because he doesn't know when God will set the End Times schedule in motion.

After reading that I thought it would make an interesting movie about a secret society of people who all believe they were destined to be Anti-Christ.

Fans of Left Behind and Tim LaHaye will gobble up this book as they do every other book on mapping out the book of Revelation, Ezekiel, Daniel and others they believe will show them when the world will end.

Otherwise, there's nothing new to read here.

This book was provided for review, at no cost, by Tyndale Publishing.

No comments: